Thursday, February 14, 2013

GIRLS BASKETBALL: Top-seeded Rams lead four area teams into AAAA districts

Sarah Payonk (54), Brittany Moore (10) and the Spring-Ford girls basketball team earned the top seed for the District 1-AAAA playoffs. The defending district champions host No. 32 William Tennent Saturday at 1:30 p.m. Methacton and Jenna Carroll (13) are the No. 5 seed for the tournament and host No. 28 Council Rock North, also at 1:30 p.m. Saturday. (Kevin Hoffman/The Mercury)

By Darryl Grumling

Pioneer Athletic Conference champion Spring-Ford highlights a list of six area girls basketball squads that have qualified for the District 1 playoffs, which begin today.
The defending champion Rams are the top seed in the 1-AAAA tournament, with PAC-10 runner up Methacton, Boyertown and Perkiomen Valley also qualifying for the 32-team draw.
Frontier Division champion Pope John Paul II and Frontier runner-up Upper Perkiomen, meanwhile, will represent the league in the 12-team District 1-AAA tourney.
Seventh seed Boyertown (16-7) will get things started tonight, playing host to 26th seed Wissahickon (13-8) in a 7 p.m. opening round contest.
(For the complete story, click here...)

No comments:

Post a Comment